• News
  • December 13, 2011

Premier's Awards for Teaching Excellence

Nominations Open for Outstanding Educators

The Premier's Awards for Teaching Excellence recognize educators and staff who are helping Ontario students and young children realize their full potential. This is your opportunity to give these remarkable professionals the recognition they deserve.

There are two new awards this year: Early Childhood Educator of the Year and Full-Day Kindergarten Team of the Year for a total of eight categories.

Nominations for 2011-12 awards closed on February 6, 2012. Check back in May for information about this year's recipients and visit our Facebook page for the latest developments.

Who is eligible?

  • For Teacher of the Year, New Teacher of the Year, Excellent Support Staff, Excellence in Leadership, Lifetime Achievement and Team of the Year Awards: Anyone who is employed by a publicly funded school or board/authority in Ontario.
  • For the Early Childhood Educator of the Year Award: All registered early childhood educators who are employed in licensed child care settings in Ontario.
  • For the Full-Day Kindergarten Team of the Year Award: A team comprised of a registered early childhood educator and a teacher who are employed in a full-day kindergarten class in a publicly funded elementary school in Ontario.

Each award category has specific eligibility criteria – please check the criteria before you nominate.

Award categories

There are eight different award categories, recognizing a range of people and skills:

Keep in Mind...

This website is provided for your convenience. If you'd prefer to call or email, my staff and I would be happy to hear from you.

Top Stories